You can still browse our resources whilst you wait. A pop up chat window will appear once one of the Proud Connection team is available.
Why not explore our word of the day:Biromantic
Connect in private
Are you worried someone will see you have been on The Proud Trust website or been using the Proud Connections Live Chat?
There are a few steps you can take to make sure you are viewing the site in private. Below you will find information on how to use “private” browsing as well as deleting your browsing history. If you have any questions about this, you can also speak to the operator during your chat session.
Quick Tip: If you need to leave the Proud Connections website quickly, you can click the ‘Exit site’ button, which appears on every page, to be redirected away from the website straight away! But remember that people might still be able to see that you were on the website by looking at your browser history (see how to delete this below).
Before we start here are some keywords that will be used in these pages and what they mean:
Device: This is what you use to access this website. That could be a phone, a laptop, computer or tablet for example.
Browser: This is the app you use to access the internet and visit websites. There are many different types of browser, for example Chrome, Safari, Microsoft Edge, etc.
Browser history: This is a list of every website you have visited that your browser stores; it shows which websites you have visited, when you visited them as well as any anything you have downloaded.
Private browsing: Most browsers will have a private browsing mode, although it might be called something different. For example, in Chrome it is called ‘Incognito mode’. It might be called something different on other browsers, but they all do very similar things. When you use private browsing, the websites you visit will not show up in your browser history.
Important note: There are some apps that can be installed on a device that lets others see what you are using the device for. This means that someone could see the websites you have visited and your messages even if you are using private browsing or if you delete your history. If you are worried that someone might be tracking your device, you can always speak to someone you trust to use their device – this could be a friend or family member. You can also speak to someone at school, college or your local library about whether your browsing would be private when using their computers.
Click here for more information about how to:
Deleting your browser history
Deleting the list on websites you have visited on you browser
Not showing the websites you are visiting in your browser history